I remember having to interview my dad once for a class project. One of the questions that I had asked him was what was his his biggest realization that came with growing up. “You always think that you’re going to be famous,” he said,” you think that everyone will see that you’re as special as you think you are. But you don’t stand out, and you won’t be famous. But life will still be great.” I always remember this because of how true it is- I’d like to think that someday people will know my name aside from friends and family. Maybe that I’ll be interviewed on CSPAN, or that people will ask for an autographed copy of my book. Regardless, I always find myself drifting into this thought process whenever I see celebrities interviewed in magazines. Because really, how much fun is it to answer some of the most absurd questions? And I love to answer them myself, see how my answers compare to the people we see from a distance. This one was an interview given to Bryan Adams:

What’s your guilty pleasure?
Curling up in front of the fireplace with Arrested Development and a glass of Kahlua and milk.

What’s your philosophy?
An old boyfriend used to say “keep on keepin’ on”, and I love that.

Which work of art would you like to own?
Burghers of Calais (Les Bourgeois de Calais), the sculpture by Rodin. I’ve loved this sculpture for years. For my birthday one year, Habibi bought me a gorgeous black and white photograph of it.

art.jpg

 

What was the last thing you bought?
My gorgeous dress for the cocktail party! Will post a picture later.

Who would you like to be stuck in a lift with?
Kyle Korver. But what would we talk about?

Whats your most treasured possession?
The ring that Chris had bought me for my birthday. He didn’t live long enough to give it to me himself, but his mom waited until my birthday and gave it to me with a letter he wrote to me. He knew he wouldn’t make it, and he had saved up his money to buy it for me. It has one sapphire in the middle, with three little diamonds on each side. I’ve worn it since that day on my left ring finger.

What can’t you live without?
My dogs, easy answer.

What wisdom would you like to pass on to your teenage self?
Don’t worry if the relationships don’t work out- it’s not the end of the world. There will be many more loves that work, and plenty that don’t work.

What makes you cry?
Stars Go Blue– Ryan Adams.

What’s your indulgence?
Mediterranean food.

What’s your favourite film, song, and book?
Currently, I’d have to say Idiocracy for the film, Things We Don’t Need Anymore by Jenny Owen Youngs for the song, and Reading Lolita in Tehran for the book. But that’s entirely different from my all-time favorite list.

What would be your perfect Saturday night and Sunday morning?
Next weekend: Meeting my girlfriends down at Jenny’s shore house, spending the day decorating and baking, drinking a bottle of wine together with the music blasting while we get ready, and having all of our friends show up for our Christmas cocktail party. The night is always ridiculous, our friends are always amazing. We dance and eat and drink all night, and then we crash in our pajamas by the fireplace. In the morning, we retell the stories, look at all of the pictures on the digital camera, drink mimosas and eat bagels. I can’t imagine a better night and morning.

What’s your comfort food?
Pomegranates.

What three things would you want on a desert island?
A boat to leave, a slew of books, a constantly charged ipod

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
I tend to take what people say to heart. And then I spend hours analyzing what they said and why they said it.

What was your childhood ambition?
I used to want to have a job where all I did was travel the country and find lost dogs and return them to their owners.

How would you describe yourself in three words?
I’m not sure.

What’s your secret talent?
I can translate Latin. Does that count? I also make some good cupcakes.

What’s the worst job you ever had?
This probably doesn’t count as an actual job, but I once got tricked into coming to an “interview” for a “marketing” company. It was completely one of those scams where I spent the day walking door-to-door in a development and trying to sell some horrible golfing package. I had worn my favorite heels, which had torn apart the skin on my feet within the first twenty minutes.

Do you have any regrets?
Plenty.

